2017 BETA Business Awards finalists announced

The finalists in the 2017 BETA Business Awards – prestigious B2B awards designed to celebrate and reward companies and individuals judged to have made a significant difference to the equestrian industry – have been revealed.

“Everyone has done incredibly well to get this far,” said BETA executive director Claire Williams. “We have received a phenomenal number of nominations and, although selecting the finalists has been a really tough job, the search continues for the ultimate winners. Depending on the particular award, this can include member votes, secret shoppers, incognito calls and consideration by an independent panel. We wish all our finalists the very best of luck.”

The winners will be announced during the BETA Gala Dinner, at the National Motorcycle Museum, near Birmingham, on Sunday 22 January. The finalists are:

Harry Hall Retail Employee of the Year
Alice Middleton – Supplement Solutions, Preston, Lancashire
Cathryn Flynn – Eskdale Saddlery, Carlisle, Cumbria
Lynn Uphill – Saddlesdane Equestrian Supplies, Faversham, Kent
Palfrey Turner – Cornwall Farmers, Helston, Cornwall
Rebecca Kirk – Tower Farm Saddlers, Rugby, Warwickshire

Equestrian Event of the Year supported by Henson Franklyn
Bramham International Horse Trials
Equifest, Peterborough
Westcountry Equine Fair

BETA Rider Award
Alice Oppenheimer – Masta
Erin Orford – Derriere Equestrian
Julia Krajewski – Neue Schule
Lucinda Elliott – Musto
Nick Skelton – Charles Owen & Co

SEIB Retailer of the Year – Mail Order/Internet Retailer
Mane Supplies – Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Silverburn Browbands – Mintlaw, Aberdeenshire
Supplement Solutions – Preston, Lancashire
The Saddlery Shop – Beaworthy, Devon
Urban Horse – Alston, Cumbria

SEIB Retailer of the Year – Large Tack Shop
Aivly Country Store – Ringwood, Hampshire
Millbry Hill – Stokesley, North Yorkshire
Naylors Equestrian – Rochdale, Lancashire
RB Equestrian – Great Brickhill, Buckinghamshire
Tower Farm Saddlers – Rugby, Warwickshire

SEIB Retailer of the Year – Medium Tack Shop
Country Ways – Aberdeen
Highfield Equestrian – Milford, Staffordshire
Robin Hood Horse & Country Store – Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Tower Farm Saddlers – Earls Barton, Northamptonshire
SEIB Retailer of the Year – Small Tack Shop
Carlton’s Equine – Whitley Bay, Northumberland
Equicraft of Backwell – Backwell, Somerset
Equine Supplies – Great Bromley, Essex
Eskdale Saddlery – Carlisle, Cumbria
The Ark – Fulbourn, Cambridge

HAYGAIN Nutritional Helpline of the Year
Allen & Page
Saracen Horse Feeds
Science Supplements
Simple System Horse Feeds
TopSpec Equine

Equine Careers Sales Representative/Agent of the Year
David Hopkins – Horseware Ireland
Emily Brown – Allen & Page
Michael Darley – Darley Equestrian
Rachel Clarke – Weatherbeeta
Vicky Mitson – Science Supplements

BETA Export Award
Derriere Equestrian
Vale Brothers

Blacks Solicitors Trade Supplier of the Year
Battle, Hayward and Bower
Shires Equestrian Products

TSM Social Media Award – 15 Hours and Under 
Aivly Country Store
Baileys Horse Feeds
Westgate Labs

TSM Social Media Award – Over 15 Hours
Derriere Equestrian
Harry Hall