Judging under way for the 2018 BETA Equine Thesis of the Year

The first round of judging is under way for the 2018 BETA Equine Thesis of the Year Award – an exciting initiative designed to put undergraduate research firmly on the map.

Twelve academic institutions – Aberystwyth University, Askham Bryan College, Bishop Burton College, Harper Adams University, Hartpury College, Myerscough College, Reaseheath College, Sparsholt College, Royal Veterinary College, University of Limerick, Warwickshire College (Moreton Morrell Centre) and Writtle University College – have each entered one undergraduate thesis.

These are now being considered by a panel of preliminary judges as part of a two-tier judging process to select the finalists. Students whose dissertations are selected will be called to present their work to a second round of judges, along with members of the public and academic community, at the De Vere Staverton Estate Hotel, near Daventry, Northamptonshire, on Sunday 28 October. The winner and runner-up will then be announced and presented with their awards and cash prizes.

“Student undergraduate research generates a huge amount of knowledge, which thanks to the award is now brought to the attention of the wider equestrian industry,” said BETA executive director Claire Williams. “I am thrilled that we are able to showcase the wealth of study in this way and really looking forward to discovering who the finalists will be. There is no doubt that the standard of submissions will be high, but I am sure that our judges will rise to the challenge. We wish all our undergraduates the very best of luck.”