BETA’s Council runs and directs the work of BETA through the Secretariat. It oversees the work of the various sub committees, approves the applications of all new members and approves the annual budgets for both BETA and EMC Ltd.

Our current Chairman is Michael Darley of Darley Equestrian, elected in October 2022. His Vice Chairman is Kathryn Jacquet of RB Equestrian, and our honorary treasurer is Wendy Hofstee from Unicorn Trails.

The Council consists of up to twenty members, a maximum of six of whom may come from any one line of business, for example Clothing and Footwear, Saddlery or Feed and supplements.

Council meetings are usually held 5 times a year, in the months of March, May, July, September and December. Proceedings at Council meetings are generally confidential, but any proceedings of interest are generally reported to members as appropriate.

The current Council is as follows:


Chairman: Michael Darley

Michael Darley, Darley Equestrian
Tel: 07427 009221

Vice Chairman: Kathryn Jacquet


Kathryn Jacquet, RB Equestrian
Tel: 01908 365335

Hon Treasurer: Wendy Hofstee

Wendy Hofstee, Unicorn Trails
Tel: 01767 600606

Directorate: Claire Williams

Executive Director & Secretary

Other Members:

Ruth Bishop, Premier Nutrition
Tel: 01889 572500

Sara Blackshaw, Sara Blackshaw Consultancy
Tel: 01386 757300

Andrea Bristol (Sexton)    Admire PR     
Tel: 07887997922   

Laura Cackett, Blue Chip Feed
Tel: 0114 266 6200

Abi Cannon D J Murphy
Tel: 01428 601020

Chris Gordon, Dodson & Horrell Ltd
Tel: 01832 737300

Ian Hassard, Dengie Crops Ltd
Tel: 01621 773773

Heather Hyde, Neue Schule
Tel: 0844 6644 600

Keith Jamieson, HJ Lea Oakes
01270 782224

Sean Jeffs    Vale Brothers  
Tel: 01922 642222   

Nicolina Mackenzie, South Essex Insurance Brokers
Tel: 01780 410005

Ian Mitchell, Heritgate Marketing Ltd
Tel: 01778 590353

Nikki Newcombe,    Bliss of London
Tel: 0207 1188123

John Rawdon-Mogg    Saracen Horse Feeds 
Tel: 01622 718487